Data connections pane

Use the Data connections pane to view, add, and manage data connections. By clicking the existing data connections, you can add new datasets. For more information on data connections, see About data connections.

The Data connections pane includes the following tabs that group the connections:

  • My connections – The connections that you created or imported. To create a new connection, see Add data connections. You can also import the connection if you have a corresponding file.
  • Shared with me – The connections that were shared with you.

By default, the pane shows the first 35 data connections. If you have more connections, scroll down to add another set of 35 connections into the view.

Tile & List views

On each tab, data connections are listed as tiles or as a list depending on the selected view. To switch to List view, click the respective icon in the upper-right corner of the pane. The view is saved per tab.

Manage data connections

The following are the options for managing data connections. Depending on the tab and your permissions, additional options appear when you manage a connection:

  • Modify

    • Edit – Edit the connection details. For details, see Add data connections.

    • Tags – Add the tags for a connection. For details, see Add tags to a data connection.
    • Change color – Categorize the connection by color.

      To do so, just click a color on the palette box. After your connections have colors assigned, you can use the Category color in the Sort by drop-down to find them faster.

    • Clear cache – Clear the cached data for this data connection.
  • Duplicate – Create a copy of the data connection. The new connection is added to the list. The duplicated connection has the same structure and properties as the original one except for the categorization details like color, favorite, and tags. The words "Copy of" are added to the beginning of its name. If needed, refine the duplicated connection name in the dialog that appears.

  • Certify / Edit certification – Mark the connection as certified or edit certification. For details, see Certify a data connection.

  • Share

  • Set credentials – This option appears only for the shared data connections (marked with Requires credentials) that you can only access with your credentials.

    Specify your credentials to access the data connection, test the connection, and then click Save. If the connection is successful, you can create a dataset based on it.

  • Remove from list – Delete the connection that was shared with you (on the Shared with me tab).

    Important: If you remove a shared connection, you will not see this connection again (even if the sharer re-shares it with you again).

  • Delete – Delete the connection. Be aware of the following:

    • If you delete a data connection, you also delete all datasets (including extracts and shared datasets) that use that data connection.
    • If you shared the data connection, the connection is deleted for the recipients. Any datasets created on this connection are also deleted.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.